Friday, December 2, 2022
Trap show troops on in thunderstorm

Trap show troops on in thunderstorm

AFTER weeks of sweltering hot and humid weather which had resulted in scorched fields and water courses drying up, the much needed rain arrived on the eve and day of the 52nd Trap Show. Torrential showers, blustery winds and even with a short spell of, thunder, lightning and hailstones did impact somewhat on the attendance.  Nevertheless the show was able to carry on with just a few stops whilst everyone headed for cover.

Most of the Horse sections were well supported and it was a very good day for the Debbie Jones and Family, Betws who not only won the Supreme Champion with their Section B mare ‘Fairywood Thumbelina’ but also the Young Stock Supreme Champion with her filly, ‘Fairywood Gwenllian’ – a remarkable achievement.

In the Sheep Section,  Deian Thomas of Taliaris scooped the Best in Show,  Lowland Breeds, and Non Continental champions with his Suffolk ewe as well as winning the Best Group of Three – no mean feat.   This year, however, as feared  there were 40% fewer sheep exhibitors than the previous year, due to the introduction of new Quarantine Unit regulations, which meant that many of our regular exhibitors who had not opted to register a new quarantine unit, and who had exhibited at the Royal Welsh Show during the week were unable to exhibit at Trap – a huge blow for us just as it will be for other shows who happen to have big sheep events taking place less than six days prior to their events. Considering the previous system seemed to work well, it is hard to fathom why a change was considered necessary.

As ever the standard in the marquee was high, with  strong entries in most sections.  The wealth of talent we have in our community is incredible which makes it a hard, yet enjoyable task for the Judges.  The Domestic and Horticlture Tent at Trap, manned by trap W.I., can stand on a par with the biggest and best of shows.

Presidents Colin and Pamela Jones, of Llandyfaelog have been  supportive of the show over the years. During his childhood, Colin attended Trap School and he and his family have always maintained a link  with the area.   They enjoyed the chance to come back and meet up with so many dear friends, despite the weather.

The It’s a Knockout  fell foul to the blustery weather, although the hog roast and the Quoits were able to carry on.  Finally to end the evening the Radnorshire Twurzels came back again, by popular demand, to entertain us.  Thanks to everyone who helped in any way on the day or with the preparation and the clearing up on the following day – a sterling team effort.  Despite the adverse weather, It was an enjoyable day, though tinged with deep sadness after the shock of losing one of our founder members so suddenly – a most stalwart committee member and one of our Life Vice President, Gordon Griffiths – a pillar of our community.  He is greatly missed.

Congratulations to all our cups and award winners


Welsh & Improved Welsh : Owen le Roux, Trap – Black Welsh Mountain : Bethan Davies,  Llanfynydd – Torddu: Osian Pauai Jones,  Capel Isaac

Torwen: Rhydian Davies.  Llanfynydd – Balwen:  Meinir Howells – Speckled:  Cennydd Jones. Blaenau – Cross Bred :Cennydd Jones

Texel   J & B Booker. Taliaris – Charolias:  Mathew Bevan. Gower – Continental: J & B Booker – Non Continental: Deian Thomas. Taliaris

Mountain Breeds Champion : Davies Family Brynyreglwys – Lowland Breeds Champion:& Supreme Champion  & Group of 3: Deian Thomas Cefneithrin. Taliaris – Young Handler  (11-14) Ieuan Llewellyn. Garnant – (0 yrs & Under ) Dafydd Griffiths Cysgod y Berllan. Trap


Childrens Riding :         Lead Rein: Pixie Shrimpton. Talley – Champion: Kate Cooper  Llangadog – Pony Club  Champion : Imogen Evans  Llandyfan

Open Riding :   Trekking Cup : Amelia Sivertser. Morriston – Over 13.2hh & Champion:  Kim Laycock.  Ammanford – Colored Horse : Sue James. Gorslas

Champion: Sue James

Fancy Dress: Amelia-Jay Mottram.  Tumble

In Hand champion & Young Stock : Elizabeth Windsor.  Cydweli

Section A  Mare: A & E Jenkins Talgarth  Llandyfan – Colt : Sian Thomas Davies. CefnFedw Stud – Stallion:  Nigel Lewis Penygroes

Hill Pony:  Aled Jenkins. Talgarth Stud – Young Stock and Champion:  Aled Rees Tycroes.

Harness:          Mrs. Humphries. Llandysul

Section B         Young Stock  & Champion: Debbie Jones, Fairywood Ponies

Shetlands :      Young Stock  : Liz Williams, Mynyddygarreg

Champion: Katie Mottram

Section C:       Young Stock:  Chris Bevan, Pontiets

Champion: Cilmaengwyn. Pontardawe

Section D:       Young Stock & Champion: Haydn  Hudson, Llandovery

Hunters & Working Ponies :

Young Stock : Delyth Thomas.  Croesyceiliog

Ridden hunter : Kim Laycock

Champion: Delyth Thomas

Supreme Young Stock : Jessica  Fairywood Ponies Ammanford

Champion :   Fairywood Ponies

Domestic & Horticulture:

Cookery:         Blue Ribbons Janet Morris.  Twyn

Cookery Prize:  Helen Herbert. Llandybie

Preserves Prize & Blue Ribbon:  Cath Rogerson. Llandyfan

Wine Prize : Ted White.  Brynamman

Honey Prize :   Keith Hall. Pantyffynnon

Overall Cup:  Hannahlynne Jones, Llandyfan & Cath Rogerson

Social Activity Trophies : Teresa Nortney, Hedydd Greaves Sariah Tinsley,Carol Tyler. Brynywawr.

Blue Ribbon Handwork: Rosemary Jones Glanbrynant

Handwork Bowl : Adelma Shepherd, Cwmifor

Art Blue Ribbon  William Williams. Kendall

Art Prize:           Charlotte Wood.

Woodwork Blue Ribbon & Cup:  Ron Haeney

Photography Blue Ribbon: Philip Parker

Prize: Megan Richardson, Llandyfan

Sticks Blue Ribbon : Clive Jones, Cross Hands

Prize,: Geraint Davies, Llangennech

Vegetables Open:

Blue Ribbon and Prize: Jim Jones. Nantgaredig

Local Vegetables Blue Ribbon, Cup, Best Onions & Potatoes Cups: Nia Williams, Trap

Flowers Blue Ribbon :  Alan Thomas, Llandybie

Floral Art  Blue Ribbon and Overall Cup:  Dawn Webb Drefach

Special Glass Bowl for class 47 ‘Thanksgiving’ : Mary Douch.  Carmarthen

Agriculture Blue Ribbon :  Robert Owen.  Penywaun

Agriculture Cup : Sue Freeman. Treiorwg

Local: Overall Cup,  Beryl Owen, Penywaun

Blue Ribbon Bowl and Best Exhibit Trap WI member:  Margaret Saunders

Childrens Section:

Meithrin Art Trophy : Lucy Davies, Meithrin Ffairfach

Meithrin Craft: Bethan Davies

Infants:  Erin Revitt Llandeilo & Harriet Tozer, Llandyfan

Juniors: Olivia Tozer, Llandyfan

Secondary : Alana Lewis, Llandybie

Pet Dogs: ‘Pink’, Jane Johnson. Penygroes

Quoits Shield :David Saunders. Dauddwr

Vintage:  Pre 1960: Stuart Watkins

Post 1960 : Elwyn Evans

Judges Choice: Mal Walker











You May Have Missed

You are in breach of copyright
%d bloggers like this: