Friday, June 9, 2023
Scarlets Kick Off New Season

Scarlets Kick Off New Season

Parc Y Scarlets

The Scarlets begin their 2017/18 season this Saturday, September 2 as they welcome newcomers Southern Kings to Parc Y Scarlets in the new Guinness Pro14.

The match kicks off at 17:30 pm and will be shown live on Sky Sports.

Wales and Lions international Leigh Halfpenny starts at full-back in his first match for the home side since joining them from French outfit Toulon on a National Dual Contract last month. However they will be missing fellow British and Irish Lions Jonathan Davies and team captain Ken Owens.

Scotland back-rower John Barclay will captain the Scarlets side in Owens absence. Barclay will continue as captain after lifting the Pro12 trophy last season in the Aviva Stadium, Dublin by defeating Munster 46 – 22 in the final.

For the opposition, hooker Michael Willemse will wear the captains armband in their first ever Pro14 fixture. The Kings who are based in Port Elizabeth, South Africa, joined the newly expanded competition along with Toyota Cheetahs in the summer.


15. Leigh Halfpenny 15. Masixole Banda
14. Johnny McNicholl 14. Yaw Penxe
13. Hadleigh Parkes 13. Berton Klaasen
12. Scott Williams 12. Luzuko Vulindlu
11. Steff Evans 11. Sibusiso Sithole
10. Rhys Patchell 10. Kurt Coleman
9. Gareth Davies 9. Rudi van Rooyen
1. Rob Evans 1. Schalk Ferreira
2. Ryan Elias 2. Michael Willemse (C)
3. Samson Lee 3. Rossouw de Klerk
4. Jake Ball 4. Jurie van Vuuren
5. Tadhg Beirne 5. Dries van Schalkwyk
6. Aaron Shingler 6. Khaya Majola
7. James Davies 7. Victor Sekekete
8. John Barclay (C) 8. Andisa Ntsila
16. Emyr Phillips 16. Stephan Coetzee
17. Dylan Jones 17. Luvuyo Pupuma
18. Werner Kruger 18. Entienne Swanepoel
19. David Bulbring 19. Bobby de Wee
20. Wil Boyde 20. Siyabulela Mdaka
21. Jonathan Evans 21. Godlen Masimla
22. Rhys Jones 22. Ntabeni Dukisa
23. Paul Asquith 23. Jacques Nel
Scarlets vs. Southern Kings
Saturday 2nd September KO 17:30
Parc Y Scarlets, Llanelli
Live on Sky Sports Action
Referee: Frank Murphy (Ireland)
Assistant Referees: Seán Gallagher (Ireland) & Wayne Davies (Wales)
TMO: Olly Hodges (Ireland)

You May Have Missed

You are in breach of copyright
%d bloggers like this: