Thursday, June 8, 2023
Llangennech Community Council AGM

Llangennech Community Council AGM


The Community Council A.G.M. was held at the Llangennech Community Centre on Monday (May 15). The retiring Chairman Councillor Gordon Lewis welcomed guests, Mayor elect Jeff Edmunds and John Evans of the Borough Council. Proceedings began with a review of the year.

The Community Council extended the Bowls Club lease for a further 21 years. Since its reintroduction to the village in 1988 with the help of the Council , fundraising and door to door collections , the Bowls Pavilion was built. Cllr. Lewis thanked the rugby, football and cricket clubs for their hard work in maintaining the park sports areas and gave special thanks to Eric Lewis who has worked hard there for 40 years.

A major flood prevention scheme will take place in Bridge Street, starting on 24 July. There will be traffic disruption for 6 weeks. The Council has agreed to take responsibility for the parks in Hendre park and Heol Plas Isaf providing they are brought up to an acceptable standard by the County Council prior to transfer.

A Community Council website is planned for June 2017. A mobile post office is due to be parked at the Community Centre for 1 hour periods. £21,600 has been spent to bring the Cricket Club up to standard in 2016/17 bringing the total spent on the building since 2013 to £94, 741. £5,140 was spent on a new plinth and tree removal at the cemetery.

The Council also financed the Christmas tree and Christmas festivities in the village. Cllr. Lewis is retiring from the Community Council after being a councillor for 50 years. He thanked outgoing councillors and welcomed the new ones and praised the excellent work provided by staff at the Council owned halls as well as the park groundsman. He went on to thank the Community Centre Committee, the clerk and the surveyor.

Cllr. Bill Griffiths was proposed and seconded as the Council Chairman 2017/8 and Cllr . Gwyneth Thomas detailed his life and achievements. Cllr, Griffiths paid tribute to Cllr. Lewis and presented a framed photograph and an engraved tray with whisky decanter and glasses to mark his retirement. Cllr. Gary Jones presented Cllr Lewis with a bottle of whisky from the labour Councillors.

The vice Chairwoman 2017/18 will be Cllr. Jacqueline Seward. The councillors for the coming year will be Glendon Davies, Bill Griffiths, Steve Hughes , Gary Jones, Colin Lee, Nicola Lloyd, Linda Morgan, Jacqueline Seward , Marian Slader, Gwyneth Thomas, Ian Williams and Robert Willock. The County Councillors will be Gary Jones and Gwyneth Thomas.

You May Have Missed

You are in breach of copyright
%d bloggers like this: