Friday, June 9, 2023
Carmarthenshire Culture Awards celebrated

Carmarthenshire Culture Awards celebrated

The Carmarthenshire Celebration of Culture Awards has shone the light on individuals, groups and organisations in the county who enrich lives through music, art and literature.

A celebration ceremony was held at the Ffwrnes Theatre last night recognising those who have made a significant contribution to the arts and culture in Carmarthenshire during the pandemic in 2020/21. The awards also celebrated those who contributed to culture in 2019 but who had not been previously recognised due to restrictions in line with the pandemic.

There were three winners in each category for both years including Excellence in Performing Arts; Excellence in Visual Arts and Crafts; Excellence in Creative Media; Excellence in Literature; Excellence in Heritage; and Excellence in Music. And two winners for each year in the Young Talent and Outstanding Contribution to Culture.

The awards are organised by Carmarthenshire County Council to highlight the importance of culture in the region and showcase our county-wide cultural achievements.

Councillor Peter Hughes Griffiths, cabinet member for culture, sport and tourism, is behind the awards scheme.

He said: “The arts were one of the worst affected sectors during the pandemic, but at a time when people needed their spirits lifted our talented artists stepped up and provided.

We should be under no illusion of the power of the arts to support people’s health and wellbeing – despite our theatres and studios being closed for such long periods, our artists found innovative ways to reach audiences. We are so lucky to have a rich cultural heritage here in Carmarthenshire with many distinguished artists, literary greats and stars of stage and screen continuing to inspire us. Hosting these awards provides an opportunity to honour those who enrich our lives and add vibrancy to Carmarthenshire.”

S4C’s Prynhawn Da and Heno presenter, Yvonne Evans compered the event with live performances from four of the winners: Côr Curiad, Lauren Fisher (both Excellence in Music award winners); Jada & Casey Lane, and Rebecca Lewis (Young Talent winners).


Winners and Categories



Excellence in Performing Arts

iCan Productions

Gŵyl Cerdd Dant Llanelli a’r Cylch 2019

Aelwyd yr Urdd Hafodwenog


Excellence in Visual Arts & Crafts

Peter Spriggs

Raymond & Diane Jones

Miriam Hughes


Excellence in Creative Media

Carys Ifan

Sam Turton

Clwb Asbri


Excellence in Literature

Cheryl Beer

Alun Lenny

Denley Owen


Excellence in Heritage

Pembrey & Burry Port Heritage Group

Gŵyl yr Orsedd 2019

Philip James


Excellence in Music

Lauren Fisher

Samuel Wyn Morris

Osian Clarke


Young Talent

Jada & Casey Lane


Outstanding Contribution to Culture

Ken Rees



Excellence in Performing Arts

Angharad James

Dean Verbeeck

Carmarthen Youth Opera


Excellence in Visual Arts & Crafts

Ainsley Hillard, Kathryn Campbell, and Newton House (Dinefwr National Trust)

Dorothy Morris

Kate Evans


Excellence in Creative Media

Eve Howard

Gareth Price

Karl Sedgwick and The Creative Industries Department at Coleg Sir Gâr


Excellence in Literature

Carole Ann Smith

Ysgol Farddol Caerfyrddin

Arwyn Thomas


Excellence in Heritage

Parc Howard Association

Jon Tregenna

Tywi Gateway Trust


Excellence in Music

Côr Curiad

Radio Glangwili

Carmarthenshire Music Service


Young Talent

Rebecca Lewis


Outstanding Contribution to Culture

Rev’ Beti-Wyn James

You May Have Missed

You are in breach of copyright
%d bloggers like this: