Tuesday, November 29, 2022
Burry Port announced as ‘Town of Culture’ 2020

Burry Port announced as ‘Town of Culture’ 2020

CARMARTHENSHIRE County Council has announced its Town and Villages of Culture for 2020.

Burry Port has been named Carmarthenshire’s Town of Culture and Trelech, Alma, Penybont and Talog as Carmarthenshire’s Villages of Culture.

It is the third year the county council has run the town and village of culture scheme, to shine a spotlight on cultural activities across different areas of Carmarthenshire.

More than 80 societies and cultural organisations from Burry Port are set to come together to plan and host a series of events next year after receiving the accolade.

Burry Port Town Council’s Community Forum will facilitate the project, and gather the views of residents, organisations and groups to prepare a programme of events for 2020 ahead of an official launch in January.

Cllr Peter Hughes Griffiths, Executive Board Member for Culture, Sport and Tourism, said: “I was so pleased to witness the enthusiasm shown at the public meetings to announce the nominations, and how the communities have so gratefully accepted the honour.

“These areas provide an excellent example of the wealth of cultural activities that go on within our communities in Carmarthenshire. We’re delighted to be able to celebrate these activities.”

Cllr Michael Theodoulou, Chair of Community Engagement for Burry Port Town Council, added: “The Town Council is honoured and proud to be chosen as Carmarthenshire Town of Culture for 2020. Together with a long active list of organisations and the community, we will make sure it’ll be a successful year. We will work hard to ensure this is a community event and not just a Town Council one.”

In Trelech, Alma, Penybont and Talog, a co-ordinating group has been established with representatives from each area and organisations. The announcement was made at the Penybont Community Centre.

Cllr Jean Lewis, of Trelech, said: “Trelech, Penybont, Talog and Alma are very proud and honoured to be chosen as Villages of Culture 2020. It is both recognition and celebration for the variety of activities that regularly takes place in these rural communities. These villages already work side by side when arranging important events and look forward to this opportunity of working closer in 2020.”

The first Town of Culture was Ammanford, in 2018, followed by Whitland in 2019.

The first Village of Culture was Llansteffan, followed by Drefach Felindre.

Do you own a business in Burry Port? Get your ad featured here now. Email editor@llanellionline.news

You May Have Missed

You are in breach of copyright
%d bloggers like this: