Saturday, December 3, 2022
AM calls for constituents to nominate their GP for national award

AM calls for constituents to nominate their GP for national award

NEIL Hamilton, Leader of UKIP Wales and AM for Mid & West Wales, is calling on his constituents to nominate their GP or practice for a national award.

The Royal College of General Practitioners Wales, is seeking nominations for the GP of the Year and Practice Team of the Year awards and Mr Hamilton is urging patients in his Region to take part.

He said: “These awards offer us all the chance to recognise GP’s and the Practice Team, for excellent patient care which goes above and beyond expectations and the call of duty.

“GPs, Practice Managers, staff and other healthcare professions, which make up a practice team, are often overstretched and extremely busy helping us to keep healthy. As the NHS in Wales continues to struggle, it is good to see all that work being appreciated in this way.

“I would urge patients in my Region, who want to reward their local GP, or practice to submit a nomination.”

The Royal College of GPs Wales represents a network of around 2,000 GPs, aiming to improve care for patients. They work to encourage and maintain the highest standards of general medical practice and act as the voice of GPs on resources, education, training, research and clinical standards.

Dr Rebecca Payne, RCGP Wales Chair, said: “It is important that we recognise good practice and celebrate those who go above and beyond. Spending time treating patients is what gets people into general practice and it is what keeps them there.”

Both awards are nominated by patients and nominations can be made through an Online Nomination Form or a Postal Nomination Form. The deadline is Friday July 27 2018.

Finalists and those who nominated them will be invited to the RCGP Wales Gala Awards evening, held in November 2018, where the winner will be announced.

Last year the GP of the Year award for 2017 went to Dr Richard Evans, from Llanilar Health Centre, Aberystwyth. The Practice Team of the Year award for 2017 went to Abersychan Medical Practice, Pontypool.

More information about the awards can be found at the RCGP Wales website:

You May Have Missed

You are in breach of copyright
%d bloggers like this: